Official name: Republic of Maldives (Dhivehi Raajjeyge Jumhooriyyaa)
Government type: Republic
Capital: Male
Independence: 26 July 1965 (from UK protectorate status)
National holiday: Independence Day, 26 July
Population: 407,660 (Cencus 2014)
Religion: Sunni Muslim
Constitution: Ratified 7 August 2008
Suffrage: 18 years of age; universal

The Government

Executive Branch: His Excellency Mr. Abdulla Yameen Abdul Gayoom, President (since 17 November 2013) – the President is both Head of State and Head of Government (supported by a Cabinet of Ministers)
Elections: Last Presidential election held in October/November 2013 (President elected for a five year term) The next elections are scheduled for 2018 (Date to be determiend by the Elections Commission)
Legislative Branch: Unicameral People’s Majlis (85 members - all elected).
Elections: Last held in 2014 (members elected for five year terms)
Judicial Branch: Supreme Court